The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award recognizes one senior faculty member each year. Honorees (who must be affiliated with a Campus Compact member institution) are recognized for exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good.

The award — previously known as the Thomas Ehrlich Faculty Award for Service-Learning — is named in honor of Thomas Ehrlich, former chair of the Campus Compact board of directors and president emeritus of Indiana University.

Nominations & Recipients

Nomination & selection

Learn about nominations & the criteria used to select a winner

Learn more
person holding stacks of paper
crowd applauding


Learn about Ehrlich Award recipients since its inception in 1995.

Read more
swearer center at brown university

Faculty Award Partner

Campus Compact is proud to partner with the Swearer Center for Public Service at Brown University for the administration of the Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award and the Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement.

About the Swearer Center