Announcing the 2023-2024 Campus Compact Fellows

This second cohort of Campus Compact Fellows is composed of practitioners, scholars, and field leaders who will advance Campus Compact’s work in key areas.

collage of fellows headshots

We are pleased to announce the new and returning 2023-2024 Campus Compact Fellows. This second cohort of Campus Compact Fellows is composed of practitioners, scholars, and field leaders who will advance Campus Compact’s work in key areas: community colleges, dialogue and deliberation, student-led engagement, rural serving institutions, anti-racist community engagement, federal policy, intercultural development, field-level research and recognition, and executive leadership.

Each fellowship is individually structured and designed around the fellow’s strengths and experience. Scopes of work for fellows fall within three thematic buckets:  

  • Facilitation, research, and design for Campus Compact affinity groups
  • Activating new strategic partnerships with national policy groups and funders
  • Deep dives into programming to build tools, publications, and resources that advance member capacity for civic and community engagement work.

“We are excited to welcome these civic and community engagement scholars, leaders, and practitioners to our team,” said Campus Compact President Bobbie Laur. “Their appointments will result in robust tools, programming, research, policy initiatives, and learning communities that elevate and center member expertise and experience. We thank these fellows for contributing their knowledge, skills, and time to build capacity and create change on our campuses and in our communities.”


2023-2024 Fellows

Foster Care Youth Housing Fellow

Reggie Blaylock

Campus Exhibitions Fellow

Alexandra Byrum, Director of Communications and Community Relations for the Equity & Community Unit at the University of Richmond

Student Engagement Research Fellow

Sunah Hyun, Senior Researcher for the Student Programs Team at Tisch College at Tufts University

Rural Engagement Network Fellow

Stephanie Lesperance, Chief Strategy Officer, Campus Compact for New Hampshire
(year 2)

Deliberative Dialogue Fellow

Nick Longo, Professor in the Department of Global Studies and Faculty Fellow for Engaged Scholarship with the Center for Teaching Excellence at Providence College
(year 2)

Bridge Building Fellow

Lisa-Marie Napoli, Director of Political and Civic Engagement at Indiana University Bloomington

Field Data Fellow

Sinda Nichols, Director of the Center for Community and Civic Engagement at Carleton College

Intercultural Development Fellow

Lissa Schwander, Associate Professor/Field Director for the Social Work Program at Central Michigan University

Community Service Federal Work Study Fellow

Daniel Fidalgo Tomé, Engaged Civic Learning Program Coordinator at Rutgers University-Camden

Community Colleges Network Fellow

Deanna Villanueva-Saucedo, Associate Vice Chancellor for the Center of Excellence in Inclusive Democracy, Maricopa Community Colleges
(year 2)

Executive Leadership and Institutional Transformation Fellow

Byron P. White, Associate Provost for Urban Research and Community Engagement at the University of North Carolina Charlotte

Community College Research Fellows Team

Lena Jones

Professor of Political Science at Minneapolis College
Lead fellow

Bernice Rosas Belmonte

Director of the Center for Community and Civic Engagement, Mesa Community College

Jason Leggett

Assistant Professor of Behavorial Sciences, Kingsborough Community College

Mathew Oakes

Professor of English at Rock Valley Community College

John R. Unger

Workforce Innovation Director & Engineering, Manufacturing and Technology Faculty, Blue Ridge Community and Technical College

Equity & Engagement Writing Fellows (year 2)

Aldo Garcia-Guevara

Worcester State University

Joseph Krupczynski

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Cynthia Lynch

Salem State University

John Reiff

Massachusetts Department of Higher Education

Roopika Risam

Dartmouth College

Christina Santana

Amherst College

Cindy Vincent

Salem State University

Elaine Ward

Merrimack College