Teresa Amott

Knox College

Dr. Teresa L. Amott is the 19th president of Knox College in Galesburg, Illinois. She is the first woman to lead the institution, which was founded in 1837.

Prior to assuming her post at Knox College, President Amott spent six years as provost and dean of the faculty at Hobart and William Smith Colleges (HWS) in Geneva, New York. At HWS, she helped design and implement the strategic plan focused on expanding the academic program and faculty, increasing faculty diversity, and renovating the academic facilities. Before joining HWS, she was vice provost at Gettysburg College in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, from 2000-2005. She has held academic appointments at Bucknell University, Harvard University, University of Massachusetts – Boston and Amherst, and Wellesley College.

President Amott holds a Ph.D. from Boston College and a B.A. from Smith College. Her research has focused on the labor market experiences of women and people of color. Among her publications are articles and essays addressing these topics, and she is co-author of Race, Gender, and Work: A Multicultural Economic History of Women in the United States (with Julie Matthaei).

Since joining the Knox community July 2011, President Amott has focused her efforts on the creation and implementation of a strategic plan, Knox 2018, which calls for advancing the College’s distinctive approach to liberal education for the 21st century, fostering engagement and participation across the many constituencies that make up the Knox community, renewing campus facilities, and ensuring the sustainability of the College for generations to come. Over the last five years, Knox has seen record applications for admission and record-breaking fundraising initiatives, the introduction of new academic programs, the renovation of Alumni Hall, a LEED-Gold certified educational center, and the opening of the Whitcomb Art Center in January 2017.

President Amott currently serves as chair of the Midwest Conference Board of Directors and is a member of the NCAA Division III Presidents Council, the Executive Committee of the Annapolis Group, and the board of directors of the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU).