Award Recipients

2018 Award Recipient

Eva Zygmunt

Helen Gant Elmore Distinguished Professor of Elementary Education and co-director of the Alliance for Community-Engaged Teacher Preparation at Ball State University

“My life has been forever transformed and enriched through my participation in community engagement in higher education. Along with colleagues and community partners, we have dared to dream of a model of educator preparation that privileges the funds of knowledge and cultural wealth of communities as essential knowledge for future teachers. Our collaborative efforts have resulted in a decade of development of community teachers who possess both the will and skill to enact pedagogies which are culturally responsive and sustaining, advancing education as a more equitable and socially just venture for all children. Additionally, working with national and international colleagues, we are advancing this model as a new standard for the field of educator preparation. This work has been an honor and a privilege.

Previous Recipients

Kenneth Reardon

Professor of Urban Planning and Director of Urban Planning and Community Development at the University of Massachusetts Boston

Robin Saha

Associate Professor of Environmental Studies at the University of Montana

Anne P. DePrince

Professor and Chair of Psychology and Director of the Center for Community Engagement and Service Learning at the University of Denver

Leda Cooks

Professor of Communications at the University of Massachusetts Amherst

Richard Battistoni

Professor of Political Science and Public and Community Service Studies and Director, Feinstein Institute for Public Service at Providence College

Andrew Furco, Campus Compact 2012 Ehrlich Award Winner

Andrew Furco

Associate Vice President for Public Engagement and Associate Professor of Organizational Leadership, Policy & Development at University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Sherril B. Gelmon

Professor of Public Health at Portland State University

Barry Checkoway

Professor of Social Work and Urban Planning at the University of Michigan

Thomas Dutton

Professor of Architecture and Interior Design and Cincinnati Professor of Civic Engagement at Miami University of Ohio

Richard Pan

Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics at the University of California-Davis

Marybeth Lima

Professor of Biological & Agricultural Engineering at Louisiana State University

William Oakes

Associate Professor of Engineering Education and Co-Director of EPICS (Engineering Projects in Community Service) at Purdue University

Seth S. Pollack

Director, Service Learning Institute at California State University, Monterey Bay

Richard M. Eberst

Health Sciences and Human Ecology Department at California State University, San Bernardino, CA

Janet Eyler

Vanderbilt University

Dwight Giles

University of Massachusetts Boston

Ira Harkavy

University of Pennsylvania

Dilafruz Williams

Portland State University

John Wallace

Professor of Philosophy at University of Minnesota

David Cooper

Professor of American Thought and Language at Michigan State University

Donna Duffy

Middlesex Community College

Robert G. Bringle

Professor of Psychology, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis

Gary W. Hesser

Professor of Sociology and Urban Studies and Chair of the Social and Behavioral Science Division at Augsburg College

Richard J. Kraft

Professor of Education at University of Colorado – Boulder

Nancy Nickman

Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice at the University of Utah

Cathy Comstock

University of Colorado-Boulder

Robert Coles

Honorary Recipient
Harvard University