New Resource Title

April 14, 2015

National Faculty Awards for Civic Engagement

For faculty committed to civic and community engagement, there are two major national awards: The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award from Campus Compact, and the Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement, from the New England Resource Center for Higher Education (NERCHE). Both awards value community collaboration as well as institutional impact and honor engaged scholarly work across the faculty roles of teaching, research, and service. We encourage nominations for senior faculty (post-tenure for middle-to-late career at institutions without tenure) for the Ehrlich Award and nominations for early career faculty (pre-tenure or early career at institutions with renewable contracts) for the Lynton Award. Please share information about the awards with your colleagues. Information about the Lynton Award can be found at

The Thomas Ehrlich Award

The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award recognizes one senior faculty member (post-tenure or middle-to-late career at institutions without tenure) each year. Honorees (who must be affiliated with a Campus Compact member institution) are recognized for exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good. The award — previously known as the Thomas Ehrlich Faculty Award for Service-Learning — is named in honor of Thomas Ehrlich, former chair of the Campus Compact board of directors and president emeritus of Indiana University.

The recipient and finalists will be announced in early fall 2015 and will be honored at Campus Compact’s 30th Anniversary Conference in March 2016. In addition, the winner will receive a $2,000 award.

The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award is made possible through the generous support of the KPMG Foundation.

The nomination period for the 2015 Ehrlich Award is now open and will close on May 22, 2015.

More about the Ehrlich Award

  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network