Tavyonia Davis

University of Wisconsin-Parkside

Tavyonia “Tay” Tashonda Davis is a recognized leader at University of Wisconsin-Parkside for her commitment to the LGBTQ community. As the Student Assistant for the LGBTQ Resource Center, Tay promotes the Center on campus while regularly engaging and supporting her peers through social and advocacy-based events. Tay is also the current President of the Black Student Union (BSU) and her understanding of the importance of the intersectionality of her work sets her apart from other student leaders. She continues to bring students across campus together around important issues such as implementing the Day of Silence event on campus and coordinating a speaker to talk to students about the intersections of being Black and LGBTQ.

Tay is majoring in Psychology and Sociology, minoring in Ethnic Studies, and earning certificates in Child and Family Advocacy and Diversity and Inclusion. She received the Success Coach of the Year for the 2018-2019 academic year from the Office of Multicultural Affairs, the Black Excellence Award from BSU, the Emerging Leader Award from Campus Activities and Engagement and the University of Wisconsin System’s P.B. Poorman Award for Outstanding Achievement on Behalf of LGBTQ+ People.

Dr. Deborah Ford
University of Wisconsin-Parkside

Personal Statement

I first became involved with assisting my community in high school. Attending various volunteer events, such as Milwaukee community clean ups or assisting with Milwaukee Public Schools’ Special Olympics events, enabled me to give back and develop a passion I had never noticed before. I began to continue this path by becoming more involved in higher education organizations such as mentoring programs and student-led organizations. Being part of one of the most predominately marginalized groups instilled in me a passion for advocacy and education. The importance of diversity and inclusion in all spaces, not just higher education or corporate America, enables me to capitalize on the root of social issues and the immediate need for change. Serving as the President of Black Student Union and as a student assistant in the LGBTQ Resource Center has put me in a position to advocate for and celebrate the importance of African American and LGBTQ students’ representation in higher education institutions.

Tavyonia Davis
Psychology and Sociology: Class of 2021
written 2020

2020 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Alexander Kaye, U. of Central Florida Miyako Iwata, UC Berkeley M. Chiamaka Okonkwo, UNC Charlotte Noelia Michelle Flores González, Universidad de Monterrey Ashlyn Woods, University of Baltimore Greta Hacker, University of Central Arkansas Christian Coleman, University of Central Oklahoma Hailey Ettinger, University of Colorado Boulder Michael Hernández, University of Connecticut Claire Sullivan, University of Dayton Maggie Nelson, University of Delaware Tarun Ramesh, University of Georgia Gregoria Uroza, University of Houston-Downtown Wasan Kumar, University of Illinois at Chicago Kaitlyn Meyr, University of Kentucky Ana Benitez, University of La Verne Amanda Gardner, University of Maine at Augusta Stephanie Turcios, University of Mary Washington Nihira Mugamba, University of Maryland, Baltimore County(UMBC) Maggie Sullivan, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Danelia Ramirez Aguilar, University of Massachusetts Lowell Jendayi London, University of Miami Meredith Days, University of Michigan Lucy Grimshaw, University of Missouri – St. Louis Kortney Sims, University of Montana Dinesh Karki, University of Nebraska Omaha Alexandra Vergara, University of New Hampshire Keyri Ambrocio, University of New Haven Aryelle Jacobsen, University of North Carolina Asheville Katherine Torres, University of North Georgia Yarik Molina, University of North Texas at Dallas Cole Passick, University of Northern Iowa Evan McKenna, University of Notre Dame Justin Norris, University of Oklahoma Nisha Sridhar, University of Oregon Oluwatomisin Oyedele, University of Pennsylvania Stephanie Rose, University of Pittsburgh TJ Tann, University of Richmond Ana Trejo Aguilar, University of San Diego Evelyn Pedraza Fernandez, University of San Francisco Imani Sherrills, University of South Carolina Beaufort Patrick Mack, University of South Carolina Upstate Reylan Cook, University of South Carolina-Columbia - Columbia, SC Tyus Edmond, University of St Thomas Amber Heidenreich, University of Wisconsin - Superior Shehrose Charania, University of Wisconsin-Madison Tavyonia Davis, University of Wisconsin-Parkside Trenton Ebel, UW Green Bay
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network