Spencer Whyte

University of Mount Union

Spencer Whyte, a junior at the University of Mount Union has proven his dedication to civic engagement and his community through countless events, leadership roles, and interactions with his peers. His involvement on campus spans many interest areas and includes leadership roles in the Phi Kappa Tau fraternity, Pi Sigma Alpha political science, and Student senate. In addition to being an outstanding student leader, Mr. Whyte has been named to the Dean's List for five consecutive semesters, is a member of the honors program and spends time helping first year students transition to college. He has moderated city council panel discussions, volunteered at camps serving children with serious illnesses and was named political science student of the year in 2016. The passion he has for civic engagement, leadership and scholarship shows in all he does. Mr. Whyte plans to pursue a career in higher education as a professor of political science or history and is certain to use such a position as a platform for encouraging civic discourse and serving his community.

Richard Merriman Jr.
University of Mount Union

Personal Statement

Serving the community has always been important to me. From a young age, I helped my mother with hunger meals for the homeless at our church. It was there that I learned the immense impact of giving of myself for others. I'll never forget the feeling inside me, when a homeless woman of seven years cried to me because she was so moved by my giving of my time. As I grew older, I became more interested in politics. For a high school government class, I attended local city council meetings and helped give opinion on local policy there. At the University of Mount Union, my involvement with the community has grown even more. I helped with an organization on campus that spread awareness and materials for voting registration. I was also in charge of raising money for SeriousFun Children's Network - a network of camps for children with serious illnesses. I have been fortunate enough to have been able to volunteer at one of these amazing camps on more than one occasion.

Spencer Whyte
Political Science and History: Class of 2019
written 2018

2018 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Terrell Saunders, UNC Greensboro Lizbeth Morales, Univeristy of North Texas at Dallas Evelyn Denisse Monreal Pitones, Universidad de Monterrey Mikita Thompson, University of Baltimore Jayda Williams, University of Central Arkansas Madeline Mills, University of Central Florida Kalen Russell, University of Central Oklahoma Wanjiku Gatheru, University of Connecticut Sarah Richard, University of Dayton Liliana Diaz-Solodukhin, University of Denver Krista Smith, University of Florida Mariana Grijalva, University of Houston-Downtown Marvin Slaughter, University of Illinois at Chicago Alix Fisk, University of Kansas Cynthia Corona, University of La Verne Taryn Jones, University of Maryland Eastern Shore Stephanie Milani, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Josue Rivera Valdez, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Faith Boone, University of Miami Anna Maria Genovesi, University of Michigan-Flint Jennifer Mossgraber, University of Missouri - St. Louis Sophie Moon, University of Montana Spencer Whyte, University of Mount Union Cassandra Griffin, University of Nebraska Omaha Daniel Suber, University of North Carolina Asheville Sreevidhya (Vidhya) Balasubramanian, University of North Carolina at Charlotte Katherine Rasmussen, University of North Florida Brittaney Dyer, University of North Georgia Ashley Sánchez, University of Northern Iowa Prathm Juneja, University of Notre Dame Sabine Brown, University of Oklahoma, Tulsa Heidi Lee, University of Pennsylvania Matthew Bell, University of Puget Sound Victoria Stabile, University of Rhode Island Alicia Jiggetts, University of Richmond Josefina Jaramillo, University of San Diego Daizha Green, University of South Carolina Tiana Burgess, University of South Carolina Beaufort Michael Sullivan, University of St Thomas Wendy Hoang, University of Wisconsin - Madison Yoger Aguilar, University of Wisconsin - Parkside Zoe Betancourt, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Sydney Mastey, University of Wisconsin-Superior
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network