Sarah Nichols

University of Maine at Augusta

Sarah M. Nichols is a Biology major at the University of Maine at Augusta. She has distinguished herself as President of the French Club. Through her leadership, she has worked especially hard to engage non-traditional and international students, as well as to develop collaborative events with other clubs and organizations. Additionally, she is one of the earliest members of the Capital Area New Mainers Project (CANMP), which welcomes immigrants and refugees to Central Maine. Ms. Nichols served as a member of one of the first family mentor teams, working closely with the family to help them integrate into the community, helping them make friends, and identifying community resources. A young mother and non-traditional student herself, she is currently working on projects to improve policy and supports for non-traditional students in higher education. She is community-committed and civically minded and has shown an established commitment to supporting students and community members who face barriers to success.

Dr. Rebecca Wyke
University of Maine at Augusta

Personal Statement

As a young parent and nontraditional student living in a rural state, I see and experience firsthand the difficulties of navigating a traditional university model not designed for people like me. I'm far from alone; rural areas are brimming with those of us facing innumerable challenges in the quest to improve our lives, our children's lives, and the well-being of our small communities. I am passionate about finding an interdisciplinary, policy- and community-based approach to restructuring the system in a manner better supporting nontraditional and low-income students, with a deep understanding of the societal and cultural barriers that interfere. My work as a researcher, club leader, and volunteer for a local refugee resettlement organization, in addition to my own life experience, has given me a particular insight and skill set that I can bring to my work in this area.

Sarah Nichols
Biology: Class of 2021
written 2019

2019 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Sarah Lutes, UNC Asheville Seda Sahin, Univeristy of Connecticut Bernardo Villarreal Rodríguez, Universidad de Monterrey Elizabeth Paige, University of Baltimore Itzel Velazquez, University of Central Arkansas Jordan Borenstein, University of Central Florida Hunter Caudillo, University of Central Oklahoma Delali Nenonene, University of Dayton April Singleton, University of Delaware Amanda Wittebort, University of Denver Mikaela Lopez, University of Houston-Downtown Nicolas Robledo, University of Illinois at Chicago Natalie Benson, University of Indianapolis Jocelyn Roof, University of Iowa Kaitlyn Frick, University of Kentucky Dyamond Gray, University of La Verne Sarah Nichols, University of Maine at Augusta Maheen Haq, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Madison LaCure, University of Massachusetts - Boston Marvens Pierre, University of Massachusetts Amherst Elizabeth Anusauskas, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Twisha Mohapatra, University of Massachusetts Lowell Shravya Jasti, University of Miami Jalen Rose, University of Michigan-Dearborn Robert Harper, University of Minnesota Danielle Friz, University of Missouri - St. Louis Daisy Ward, University of Montana Adrianna Pittman, University of Montana Western Lizbeth Perez Hernandez, University of Nebraska Omaha Kaitlin Griffin, University of New Hampshire Joyce Yao, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Yesika Sorto Andino, University of North Carolina at Charlotte Adriana Zarate, University of North Georgia Hector Robledo, University of North Texas at Dallas Sashay Carroll, University of Northern Iowa Carson Ball, University of Oklahoma Carter Gale, University of Pennsylvania John Farris, University of Redlands Mary-Kate McGeary, University of Rhode Island Lina Tori Jan, University of Richmond Nina Schneider, University of San DIego Nyteia Tyler, University of San Francisco Karen Padilla, University of South Carolina Beaufort Danica Leaphart, University of South Carolina, Columbia Shaneika Bowra, University of the District of Columbia Livia Karoui, University of the South Jordyn Gaurkee, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay Emiliana Lopez, University of Wisconsin - Madison Zach Atkins, University of Wisconsin - Parkside Madison Hale, University of Wisconsin-Superior
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network