Noelia Michelle Flores González

Universidad de Monterrey

Noelia Flores, a fourth semester of the Engineering degree in Computer Technologies student at the University of Monterrey, is a worthy candidate for the Newman Civic Fellowship, being a faithful bearer of the characteristics and values of our University by demonstrating that “the human being only reaches its fullness in the service of others.” She is considered for the tangible results of her social engagement, her constant spirit of improvement and academic excellence. With her project Codellege, she has contributed with young people who are in a social vulnerability situation in some regions in Nuevo León, México, making them to move their family income through education on information technologies as software developers and web designers. With this project, she has managed to break one of the most obvious cycles of our country: poverty.

Sr. Mario Páez González
Universidad de Monterrey

Personal Statement

Mexico is a country where social mobility is very complicated: 49% of people who born in lowest group of the social strata stay there all their lives. Knowing this problem, I decided to focus on working with young people who are in a social vulnerability situation in some regions in Nuevo León, México. I have achieved this with the Codellege project and with the accompaniment of “Formar para Transformar”, an university program which provides permanent accompaniment to student with vocation for service who promote the development of social processes with long-term vision. Codellege is a project who promotes an aspirational process in which women and men become engaged in the labor field through information technologies as software and web designers. As an example, it has been achieved that the families of the young people in the program income from 8 thousand pesos per month to 21 thousand pesos per month. Thanks to Codellege, I have addressed the problem of poverty through an aspirational and educational process in which more than 50 women and men, in a year, have been included in technological companies as Softek and Accenture as a software developers and web designers.

Noelia Michelle Flores González
Engineering degree in Computer Technologies: Class of 2023
written 2020

2020 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Alexander Kaye, U. of Central Florida Miyako Iwata, UC Berkeley M. Chiamaka Okonkwo, UNC Charlotte Noelia Michelle Flores González, Universidad de Monterrey Ashlyn Woods, University of Baltimore Greta Hacker, University of Central Arkansas Christian Coleman, University of Central Oklahoma Hailey Ettinger, University of Colorado Boulder Michael Hernández, University of Connecticut Claire Sullivan, University of Dayton Maggie Nelson, University of Delaware Tarun Ramesh, University of Georgia Gregoria Uroza, University of Houston-Downtown Wasan Kumar, University of Illinois at Chicago Kaitlyn Meyr, University of Kentucky Ana Benitez, University of La Verne Amanda Gardner, University of Maine at Augusta Stephanie Turcios, University of Mary Washington Nihira Mugamba, University of Maryland, Baltimore County(UMBC) Maggie Sullivan, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Danelia Ramirez Aguilar, University of Massachusetts Lowell Jendayi London, University of Miami Meredith Days, University of Michigan Lucy Grimshaw, University of Missouri – St. Louis Kortney Sims, University of Montana Dinesh Karki, University of Nebraska Omaha Alexandra Vergara, University of New Hampshire Keyri Ambrocio, University of New Haven Aryelle Jacobsen, University of North Carolina Asheville Katherine Torres, University of North Georgia Yarik Molina, University of North Texas at Dallas Cole Passick, University of Northern Iowa Evan McKenna, University of Notre Dame Justin Norris, University of Oklahoma Nisha Sridhar, University of Oregon Oluwatomisin Oyedele, University of Pennsylvania Stephanie Rose, University of Pittsburgh TJ Tann, University of Richmond Ana Trejo Aguilar, University of San Diego Evelyn Pedraza Fernandez, University of San Francisco Imani Sherrills, University of South Carolina Beaufort Patrick Mack, University of South Carolina Upstate Reylan Cook, University of South Carolina-Columbia - Columbia, SC Tyus Edmond, University of St Thomas Amber Heidenreich, University of Wisconsin - Superior Shehrose Charania, University of Wisconsin-Madison Tavyonia Davis, University of Wisconsin-Parkside Trenton Ebel, UW Green Bay
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network