Meredith Days

University of Michigan

Meredith is a junior at the University of Michigan majoring in Public Policy with a concentration in Democratic Access, and minoring in Community Action and Social Change. She cares deeply about issues of public policy and social justice that affect marginalized communities, especially those relating to voting rights. As a Team Lead for the Andrew Goodman Foundation, she collaborates with the democratic engagement team at U-M’s Ginsberg Center to create and deliver educational materials around recent changes to Michigan’s voting laws, organize voter engagement and registration events, and plan for Michigan’s presidential primary in March 2020, with a focus on messaging and marketing surrounding to the Big Ten Voting Challenge. She is involved in communications and operations for the Michigan Active Citizens-Alternative Spring Break program (MAC-ASB), and values this organization’s commitment to community engagement and social justice. Meredith is also a co-president of the Roosevelt Institute, where she has written policy pieces about expanding voting rights for students at the University of Michigan, and creating a universal pre-k program for the state of Michigan, and participates in advocacy efforts in Lansing and Ann Arbor.

Dr. Mark Schlissel
University of Michigan

Personal Statement

Growing up, my parents taught me to value and uplift the communities around me, especially through direct service. As a freshman in college, however, my focus began to shift from just serving the community at a surface level to understanding what causes systemic inequalities and what I can do to make a difference. I joined MAC-ASB as a freshman because of the focus on education, direct service, and reflection. I love MAC-ASB for the opportunities I’ve had to explore service beyond my own communities, challenge my expectations and privileges, and discover the extent to which social justice issues play into social inequality, as well help other students experience this program. My experience with MAC-ASB led me to explore breaking down systemic inequalities through my academic and organizing work on campus. I’m deeply passionate about democratic access, especially voting rights of young people and people of color, who are often disenfranchised by voting laws and rules. Through the Roosevelt Institute, I’ve written policy about expanding the voting rights of students, but I also spend time working towards providing better access to voter registration for students on campus through my work with the Andrew Goodman Foundation and the Big Ten Voting Challenge.

Meredith Days
Public Policy with a focus area in Democratic Access; minor in Community Action and Social Change: Class of 2021
written 2020

2020 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Alexander Kaye, U. of Central Florida Miyako Iwata, UC Berkeley M. Chiamaka Okonkwo, UNC Charlotte Noelia Michelle Flores González, Universidad de Monterrey Ashlyn Woods, University of Baltimore Greta Hacker, University of Central Arkansas Christian Coleman, University of Central Oklahoma Hailey Ettinger, University of Colorado Boulder Michael Hernández, University of Connecticut Claire Sullivan, University of Dayton Maggie Nelson, University of Delaware Tarun Ramesh, University of Georgia Gregoria Uroza, University of Houston-Downtown Wasan Kumar, University of Illinois at Chicago Kaitlyn Meyr, University of Kentucky Ana Benitez, University of La Verne Amanda Gardner, University of Maine at Augusta Stephanie Turcios, University of Mary Washington Nihira Mugamba, University of Maryland, Baltimore County(UMBC) Maggie Sullivan, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Danelia Ramirez Aguilar, University of Massachusetts Lowell Jendayi London, University of Miami Meredith Days, University of Michigan Lucy Grimshaw, University of Missouri – St. Louis Kortney Sims, University of Montana Dinesh Karki, University of Nebraska Omaha Alexandra Vergara, University of New Hampshire Keyri Ambrocio, University of New Haven Aryelle Jacobsen, University of North Carolina Asheville Katherine Torres, University of North Georgia Yarik Molina, University of North Texas at Dallas Cole Passick, University of Northern Iowa Evan McKenna, University of Notre Dame Justin Norris, University of Oklahoma Nisha Sridhar, University of Oregon Oluwatomisin Oyedele, University of Pennsylvania Stephanie Rose, University of Pittsburgh TJ Tann, University of Richmond Ana Trejo Aguilar, University of San Diego Evelyn Pedraza Fernandez, University of San Francisco Imani Sherrills, University of South Carolina Beaufort Patrick Mack, University of South Carolina Upstate Reylan Cook, University of South Carolina-Columbia - Columbia, SC Tyus Edmond, University of St Thomas Amber Heidenreich, University of Wisconsin - Superior Shehrose Charania, University of Wisconsin-Madison Tavyonia Davis, University of Wisconsin-Parkside Trenton Ebel, UW Green Bay
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network