Max Poole

University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Max Poole, a sophomore at UMBC, has distinguished himself as a rising leader with a commitment to education and empowerment. He started his UMBC career in fall 2014 as a resident of The Shriver Living Learning Community, a residential floor of students committed to service in our local community. He also is a member of the Sondheim Public Affairs Scholars Program, an academic program of students aspiring to careers in service of the public interest in government, non-profit organizations, corporations, and the community. He is in his fourth semester serving at Arbutus Middle School's Arbutus Achievers, an afterschool program and collaboration with the Maryland-DC Campus Compact (MDCCC). As a freshman, Max was selected by the MDCCC AmeriCorps/VISTA as the Site Supervisor and as an organizer of the school's "March to College Day." As an aspiring teacher, Max is always seeking opportunities to challenge himself. His work with noted choreographer Liz Lerman to create a plan for a site featuring her "toolbox" of collaborative techniques assisted him in identifying more effective systems of learning that meet the needs of disengaged youth. Max's exemplary leadership and sustained commitment to improving educational opportunities for youth is helping to improve the lives of others.

Dr. Freeman A. Hrabowski III
University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Personal Statement

I am passionate about taking the love others have given me and expanding it throughout the world. When my grandmother died of cancer, I was heartbroken. To honor her memory, my friends and I started a charity concert series. We provided a safe and fun place for students to express themselves and the $1,000 we raised went towards cancer research. My grandmother was an educator and inspired me to lead the Arbutus Achievers program. As coordinator of the program, I lead a group of tutors who work one-on-one with students. We make sure they love their schools and themselves. We provide both education and emotional support for these students through the difficulty of middle school. I also run the program in memory of my mentor, Nick Ramundo, who died during my first semester running the Arbutus Achievers. He was beloved by both the students and the tutors in our program. My team and I had to both explain his death and honor his memory with our group of middle school students. I am passionate about making my community a better place by carrying on the love that Nick and my grandmother brought to the world.

Max Poole
Mathematics & Computer Science: Class of 2018
written 2016

2016 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Karmen Kurtz, UNC Asheville Erin Coggins, UNC Charlotte Juan Emilio García Estrada, Universidad de Monterrey Sonce Reese, University of Baltimore Lillian McEntire, University of Central Arkansas Katie Richard, University of Central Oklahoma Joshua Higginbotham, University of Charleston Elizabeth Charash, University of Connecticut Kayla J. McLaughlin, University of Dayton Ciera Kathryn Blehm, University of Denver Andy Garcia, University of Florida Brittany Shipman, University of Great Falls Rima Nimri, University of Illinois at Chicago Maribel Hernandez, University of La Verne Benjamin Webster, University of Maryland Eastern Shore Rachael Parran, University of Maryland, Baltimore Max Poole, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Joel Colon, University of Massachusetts Boston Chris LaPorte, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Alexis Musick, University of Miami Hawa Ali, University of Minnesota Rochester Daniel Mueller, University of Missouri - St. Louis Mackenzie Lombardi, University of Montana Katelyn Gonczy, University of Mount Union Antonio Campbell, University of Nebraska Omaha Zachary Bolster, University of New Hampshire Michael Elliott, University of New Hampshire - Manchester John Blessing, University of North Georgia Shelby Yates, University of Northern Iowa Caitlin Hodges, University of Notre Dame Jeffrey Wiseman, University of Pennsylvania Ian Kanterman, University of Rhode Island Jennifer Paradis, University of Saint Joseph Jessica Villa, University of San Francisco Theresa M. Lacey, University of South Carolina Beaufort Cindy Kuo, University of Utah Mirella Espino, University of Wisconsin Colleges-University of Wisconsin-Extension Nasitta Keita, University of Wisconsin-Madison Marley Uran, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network