Mackenzie Lombardi

University of Montana

Mackenzie Lombardi is a Communications and Political Science major at the University of Montana who has set her sights on changing the nature of American political rhetoric. Using her talents in communication and passion for social justice, Mackenzie has served as an incredibly successful campaign manager in student government, interned with the Office of Montana Governor Steve Bullock, and served as an advocate with the Student Advocacy Resource Center. Mackenzie is dedicated to public problem-solving and promoting equality. She holds herself to high standards of kindness and dedication when working with others and will set aside personal goals in pursuit of a common good. Mackenzie has the passion, talent, and vision to enact positive social change and the ability to inspire others to do the same.

Royce C Engstrom
University of Montana

Personal Statement

Words and the way they shape our understanding have always fascinated me. As a feminist, I am struck by how the oppressive institutions of our world are constructed, upheld, and even destroyed by language. As a student of politics, I came to understand that political rhetoric can be fundamental to these institutions. We are all hyper-aware of the fear-mongering, uneducated, offensive rhetoric that can dominate the political sphere. This is not what public discourse should be; we are all better served when our politics is about speaking the truth well. The political rhetoric I intend to shape is one that meets people where they are ideologically and appeals to basic instincts for compassion, justice, and tolerance. This is what draws me to political communication, and why I love campaigns. Whether knocking doors in a statewide campaign or drafting a strategy for a student body election, I find power and passion in helping those who would represent us solidify and polish their message. At my core I believe that words matter, and through rhetoric I can shift the tone of American politics.

Mackenzie Lombardi
Communications and Political Science: Class of 2017
written 2016

2016 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Karmen Kurtz, UNC Asheville Erin Coggins, UNC Charlotte Juan Emilio García Estrada, Universidad de Monterrey Sonce Reese, University of Baltimore Lillian McEntire, University of Central Arkansas Katie Richard, University of Central Oklahoma Joshua Higginbotham, University of Charleston Elizabeth Charash, University of Connecticut Kayla J. McLaughlin, University of Dayton Ciera Kathryn Blehm, University of Denver Andy Garcia, University of Florida Brittany Shipman, University of Great Falls Rima Nimri, University of Illinois at Chicago Maribel Hernandez, University of La Verne Benjamin Webster, University of Maryland Eastern Shore Rachael Parran, University of Maryland, Baltimore Max Poole, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Joel Colon, University of Massachusetts Boston Chris LaPorte, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Alexis Musick, University of Miami Hawa Ali, University of Minnesota Rochester Daniel Mueller, University of Missouri - St. Louis Mackenzie Lombardi, University of Montana Katelyn Gonczy, University of Mount Union Antonio Campbell, University of Nebraska Omaha Zachary Bolster, University of New Hampshire Michael Elliott, University of New Hampshire - Manchester John Blessing, University of North Georgia Shelby Yates, University of Northern Iowa Caitlin Hodges, University of Notre Dame Jeffrey Wiseman, University of Pennsylvania Ian Kanterman, University of Rhode Island Jennifer Paradis, University of Saint Joseph Jessica Villa, University of San Francisco Theresa M. Lacey, University of South Carolina Beaufort Cindy Kuo, University of Utah Mirella Espino, University of Wisconsin Colleges-University of Wisconsin-Extension Nasitta Keita, University of Wisconsin-Madison Marley Uran, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network