Jennifer Mossgraber

University of Missouri - St. Louis

Jennifer Mossgraber is an engaged student leader majoring in Political Science. Jen serves as President of the Political Science Academy, an organization committed to fostering civil discourse and increasing civic engagement. She has strengthened the participation of this organization and facilitated many successful bipartisan events since joining this group. As a member of the College of Arts and Sciences Dean's Student Council, her efforts make a difference for all students in the College. Jen also goes beyond the campus community to represent the University of Missouri System as a legislative intern and Voter Registration Coordinator for the Associated Students of the University of Missouri. Her work as a legislative intern gives her first-hand experience working with lawmakers in the state's capitol and lobbying on behalf of the UM System's students. Jen is developing valuable skills through this work, and her impact goes beyond action on campus and on behalf of college students. As an activist for social justice and through her involvement in community organizations such HateBrakers, she also works to increase equity and improve the lives of her follow citizens. These skills and experience have prepared Jennifer to thrive as a Newman Civic Fellow.

Thomas George
University of Missouri - St. Louis

Personal Statement

Being a student at the University of Missouri - St. Louis has taught me a number of things, but perhaps most significantly, it has shown me the incredible importance of being engaged in one's community. By being involved in student groups like the Political Science Academy, the College of Arts and Sciences Dean's Student Council, and the Associated Students of the University of Missouri, I have come to understand how collective goals and efforts can strengthen and encourage individual ones, and vice versa. Participating in the UMSL and broader UM system communities has helped me learn about my own abilities and limitations, but it has also shown me that almost nothing can be done without the support and contributions of others. By being of and for the community, UMSL continually encourages its students to be likewise committed to one another. I strive to reflect this mission in my work with the Political Science Academy. As the group's president, I manage several campus wide events aimed at increasing student understanding of, and engagement with, political processes. We promote civil discourse by hosting moderated debates and offer opportunities for students to meet and engage with elected officials.

Jennifer Mossgraber
Political Science: Class of 2019
written 2018

2018 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Terrell Saunders, UNC Greensboro Lizbeth Morales, Univeristy of North Texas at Dallas Evelyn Denisse Monreal Pitones, Universidad de Monterrey Mikita Thompson, University of Baltimore Jayda Williams, University of Central Arkansas Madeline Mills, University of Central Florida Kalen Russell, University of Central Oklahoma Wanjiku Gatheru, University of Connecticut Sarah Richard, University of Dayton Liliana Diaz-Solodukhin, University of Denver Krista Smith, University of Florida Mariana Grijalva, University of Houston-Downtown Marvin Slaughter, University of Illinois at Chicago Alix Fisk, University of Kansas Cynthia Corona, University of La Verne Taryn Jones, University of Maryland Eastern Shore Stephanie Milani, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Josue Rivera Valdez, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Faith Boone, University of Miami Anna Maria Genovesi, University of Michigan-Flint Jennifer Mossgraber, University of Missouri - St. Louis Sophie Moon, University of Montana Spencer Whyte, University of Mount Union Cassandra Griffin, University of Nebraska Omaha Daniel Suber, University of North Carolina Asheville Sreevidhya (Vidhya) Balasubramanian, University of North Carolina at Charlotte Katherine Rasmussen, University of North Florida Brittaney Dyer, University of North Georgia Ashley Sánchez, University of Northern Iowa Prathm Juneja, University of Notre Dame Sabine Brown, University of Oklahoma, Tulsa Heidi Lee, University of Pennsylvania Matthew Bell, University of Puget Sound Victoria Stabile, University of Rhode Island Alicia Jiggetts, University of Richmond Josefina Jaramillo, University of San Diego Daizha Green, University of South Carolina Tiana Burgess, University of South Carolina Beaufort Michael Sullivan, University of St Thomas Wendy Hoang, University of Wisconsin - Madison Yoger Aguilar, University of Wisconsin - Parkside Zoe Betancourt, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Sydney Mastey, University of Wisconsin-Superior
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network