Jalen Rose

University of Michigan-Dearborn

Jalen is in his third year at the University of Michigan-Dearborn studying Electrical Engineering. For him, community is at the center of everything. Each day, whether on campus or off, he seeks to connect, to collaborate, and to influence positive change around him. Serving on the Civic Leadership Board, one of seven student filled positions whose collective and individual work is centralized on fostering a civic ethos on campus. Jalen has re-developed the Alternative Break (AB) program, which organizes service trips for students all across the country during academic breaks (spring, summer, winter). He has worked tirelessly to create a program culture and expectation of continued civic action. He has lead by example in showing that we all have the responsibility to be active, to learn, and to work collaboratively with our communities to create change. Because of his work, the program has nearly tripled in participants, communities served, and ultimately, the positive impact this program can, and will, have on communities. Jalen is currently working with campus and community partners to expand the AB program to create more opportunities for students to serve their communities and become active citizens.

Domenico Grasso
University of Michigan-Dearborn

Personal Statement

With my involvement on campus, I always want to see students come together and do impactful things. My personal satisfaction means little compared to knowing others are becoming inspired. Passing on the torch is an important concept that will allow for long term change in any community. I see how important it is to constantly be giving new leadership opportunities so others can make their own impact. As the president of the Opportunity Scholarship program and coordinator for our Alternative Breaks program, my main role is to develop a platform for students to have learning experiences where they too can see how they play a role in shaping their community. With time, this community will have a legacy of passionate leaders working towards making a meaningful difference in the world around us. I too was inspired by dedicated leaders passing on this passion to foster change; now it's my turn.

Jalen Rose
Electrical Engineering: Class of 2020
written 2019

2019 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Sarah Lutes, UNC Asheville Seda Sahin, Univeristy of Connecticut Bernardo Villarreal Rodríguez, Universidad de Monterrey Elizabeth Paige, University of Baltimore Itzel Velazquez, University of Central Arkansas Jordan Borenstein, University of Central Florida Hunter Caudillo, University of Central Oklahoma Delali Nenonene, University of Dayton April Singleton, University of Delaware Amanda Wittebort, University of Denver Mikaela Lopez, University of Houston-Downtown Nicolas Robledo, University of Illinois at Chicago Natalie Benson, University of Indianapolis Jocelyn Roof, University of Iowa Kaitlyn Frick, University of Kentucky Dyamond Gray, University of La Verne Sarah Nichols, University of Maine at Augusta Maheen Haq, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Madison LaCure, University of Massachusetts - Boston Marvens Pierre, University of Massachusetts Amherst Elizabeth Anusauskas, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Twisha Mohapatra, University of Massachusetts Lowell Shravya Jasti, University of Miami Jalen Rose, University of Michigan-Dearborn Robert Harper, University of Minnesota Danielle Friz, University of Missouri - St. Louis Daisy Ward, University of Montana Adrianna Pittman, University of Montana Western Lizbeth Perez Hernandez, University of Nebraska Omaha Kaitlin Griffin, University of New Hampshire Joyce Yao, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Yesika Sorto Andino, University of North Carolina at Charlotte Adriana Zarate, University of North Georgia Hector Robledo, University of North Texas at Dallas Sashay Carroll, University of Northern Iowa Carson Ball, University of Oklahoma Carter Gale, University of Pennsylvania John Farris, University of Redlands Mary-Kate McGeary, University of Rhode Island Lina Tori Jan, University of Richmond Nina Schneider, University of San DIego Nyteia Tyler, University of San Francisco Karen Padilla, University of South Carolina Beaufort Danica Leaphart, University of South Carolina, Columbia Shaneika Bowra, University of the District of Columbia Livia Karoui, University of the South Jordyn Gaurkee, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay Emiliana Lopez, University of Wisconsin - Madison Zach Atkins, University of Wisconsin - Parkside Madison Hale, University of Wisconsin-Superior
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network