Hailey Ettinger

University of Colorado Boulder

Hailey Ettinger is an Elementary Education Major and part of INVST, a two-year academic program at CU Boulder. Hailey is studying our current education system as an intern with Public Achievement. She has expanded her awareness about how local public problems resemble larger problems that are national in scope and scale. Hailey hopes to shift our society by evolving how and what we are teaching to future generations. After she graduates from CU, Hailey envisions herself as an elementary school teacher in the Boulder Valley School District where she will work to close the achievement gap and diminish inequality and injustice in public schools.

Dr. Phillip DiStefano
University of Colorado Boulder

Personal Statement

I would like to be considered for the Fellowship because it will give me the connections and support necessary to continue to grow my dedication to social change. I believe in the possibility of a paradigm shift in our society that brings more love, acceptance, empathy, and equity to all. Our current education system is lacking all of these crucial components that are needed to bring about social progress. In order to shift our society, we must evolve how and what we are teaching to future generations. Currently I am majoring in elementary education and I am in the INVST Program. After I graduate from CU I envision myself becoming an elementary school teacher. I feel that I can have the most impact working in a Title1 school located in a pocket of poverty. Typically, this is where students are experiencing the harshest effects of inequity and the achievement and opportunity gaps. The quality of the education they are receiving is usually lower than that of students attending schools located in more affluent areas. I want to contribute to finding solutions that give these students high-quality education to close these gaps.

Hailey Ettinger
Elementary Education Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Endorsement: Class of 2022
written 2020

2020 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Alexander Kaye, U. of Central Florida Miyako Iwata, UC Berkeley M. Chiamaka Okonkwo, UNC Charlotte Noelia Michelle Flores González, Universidad de Monterrey Ashlyn Woods, University of Baltimore Greta Hacker, University of Central Arkansas Christian Coleman, University of Central Oklahoma Hailey Ettinger, University of Colorado Boulder Michael Hernández, University of Connecticut Claire Sullivan, University of Dayton Maggie Nelson, University of Delaware Tarun Ramesh, University of Georgia Gregoria Uroza, University of Houston-Downtown Wasan Kumar, University of Illinois at Chicago Kaitlyn Meyr, University of Kentucky Ana Benitez, University of La Verne Amanda Gardner, University of Maine at Augusta Stephanie Turcios, University of Mary Washington Nihira Mugamba, University of Maryland, Baltimore County(UMBC) Maggie Sullivan, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Danelia Ramirez Aguilar, University of Massachusetts Lowell Jendayi London, University of Miami Meredith Days, University of Michigan Lucy Grimshaw, University of Missouri – St. Louis Kortney Sims, University of Montana Dinesh Karki, University of Nebraska Omaha Alexandra Vergara, University of New Hampshire Keyri Ambrocio, University of New Haven Aryelle Jacobsen, University of North Carolina Asheville Katherine Torres, University of North Georgia Yarik Molina, University of North Texas at Dallas Cole Passick, University of Northern Iowa Evan McKenna, University of Notre Dame Justin Norris, University of Oklahoma Nisha Sridhar, University of Oregon Oluwatomisin Oyedele, University of Pennsylvania Stephanie Rose, University of Pittsburgh TJ Tann, University of Richmond Ana Trejo Aguilar, University of San Diego Evelyn Pedraza Fernandez, University of San Francisco Imani Sherrills, University of South Carolina Beaufort Patrick Mack, University of South Carolina Upstate Reylan Cook, University of South Carolina-Columbia - Columbia, SC Tyus Edmond, University of St Thomas Amber Heidenreich, University of Wisconsin - Superior Shehrose Charania, University of Wisconsin-Madison Tavyonia Davis, University of Wisconsin-Parkside Trenton Ebel, UW Green Bay
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network