Elizabeth Anusauskas

University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Elizabeth Anusauskas, a political science and economics major is a student/scholar, passionate about strengthening our democracy. For the last two years she has been sharing her energy, time and talents leading students to understand ballot issues and vote. In the Fall of 2018 she successfully led the new voters project and democracy campaign that resulted in over 550 students registering to vote with an increase in voter turnout at the local polls by 58%. Elizabeth is now working to make a difference in our community on social justice issues ranging from prison reform to the environment and to bring the UMass Dartmouth campus together for future elections.

Robert Johnson Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Personal Statement

I believe in the power of student voices and the impact that young people can have when they make themselves heard. Voting is a fundamental aspect of American democracy and the consistently low turnout rates for college-age students to their polling stations incentivizes me to continue to educate students. During the 2018 midterm election, I worked with an organization to register college students to vote, teach other students how to register their peers, and lead people towards nonpartisan sources of information. This work didn't end after November 6th. After the election I mapped out a plan for a democracy campaign that is being run this semester to make sure people stayed engaged in local and state politics. Encouraging students to share their ideas and opinions with the world has been my passion since it was instilled in me that casting my ballot every election can truly make a difference. I believe in the power of small actions and voting and staying engaged in local community issues is the first step in everyone's process of making a difference on Earth.

Elizabeth Anusauskas
Political Science and Economics: Class of 2021
written 2019

2019 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Sarah Lutes, UNC Asheville Seda Sahin, Univeristy of Connecticut Bernardo Villarreal Rodríguez, Universidad de Monterrey Elizabeth Paige, University of Baltimore Itzel Velazquez, University of Central Arkansas Jordan Borenstein, University of Central Florida Hunter Caudillo, University of Central Oklahoma Delali Nenonene, University of Dayton April Singleton, University of Delaware Amanda Wittebort, University of Denver Mikaela Lopez, University of Houston-Downtown Nicolas Robledo, University of Illinois at Chicago Natalie Benson, University of Indianapolis Jocelyn Roof, University of Iowa Kaitlyn Frick, University of Kentucky Dyamond Gray, University of La Verne Sarah Nichols, University of Maine at Augusta Maheen Haq, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Madison LaCure, University of Massachusetts - Boston Marvens Pierre, University of Massachusetts Amherst Elizabeth Anusauskas, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Twisha Mohapatra, University of Massachusetts Lowell Shravya Jasti, University of Miami Jalen Rose, University of Michigan-Dearborn Robert Harper, University of Minnesota Danielle Friz, University of Missouri - St. Louis Daisy Ward, University of Montana Adrianna Pittman, University of Montana Western Lizbeth Perez Hernandez, University of Nebraska Omaha Kaitlin Griffin, University of New Hampshire Joyce Yao, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Yesika Sorto Andino, University of North Carolina at Charlotte Adriana Zarate, University of North Georgia Hector Robledo, University of North Texas at Dallas Sashay Carroll, University of Northern Iowa Carson Ball, University of Oklahoma Carter Gale, University of Pennsylvania John Farris, University of Redlands Mary-Kate McGeary, University of Rhode Island Lina Tori Jan, University of Richmond Nina Schneider, University of San DIego Nyteia Tyler, University of San Francisco Karen Padilla, University of South Carolina Beaufort Danica Leaphart, University of South Carolina, Columbia Shaneika Bowra, University of the District of Columbia Livia Karoui, University of the South Jordyn Gaurkee, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay Emiliana Lopez, University of Wisconsin - Madison Zach Atkins, University of Wisconsin - Parkside Madison Hale, University of Wisconsin-Superior
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network