Eisha Khan

University of Houston-Downtown

Eisha Khan, a Political Science major at the University of Houston-Downtown, is the founder of United Nations Association's (UNA) collegiate chapter, and serves on local and international boards to advocate for human rights, equal education and cross-cultural dialogue. Under her zealous leadership, within the first year, the UNA chapter hosted 40 community engagement events, and accumulated 1000 volunteer hours. The events included, organized voter registration, serving at homeless shelters and rehabilitation centers, visiting members of Congress, initiating interfaith dialogues, welcoming refugees and advocating for human rights. She also works with UNA's national board as the spokesperson for collegiate chapters to promote vital work of the UN. Her work with UNA was recognized at the 2016 UN Member's day. Khan is an ambassador of Be the Peace-Be the Hope, an educational arts program that works with refugee children across the globe. She visited camps in Africa in summer 2016, providing policy solutions, raising awareness, and engaging local communities to help refugees. She has a bold vision that is coupled with a diverse skill set. Working on such initiatives makes her optimistic as she envisions the world moving towards celebrating diversity through progressive communication and collaboration among communities.

Michael Olivas
Interim President
University of Houston-Downtown

Personal Statement

From an early age, I have been interested in learning about oppressed populations, as I come from a Kashmiri family that left its homeland to secure the future of subsequent generations. When I started college, I was keen on learning about international affairs with the aim of combating crimes against humanity, advancing cross-cultural understanding, and promoting equal education. I am the founder of the United Nations Association Chapter at the University of Houston-Downtown, an organization that mobilizes students to support the vital work of the United Nations. My activism has led me to serve as an ambassador of Be the Peace-Be the Hope, an educational-arts integration program that works with refugee children across the globe, and builds bridges between children in the US and the camps. I work towards providing policy solutions and raising awareness as I visit refugee camps. My work with refugee children in Africa was truly a humbling experience as I gained firsthand experience of their situation, was exposed to a multitude of perspectives and made friends. I cherish the empowerment my experiences have given me, and hope to enhance my skills and knowledge throughout my journey in advocacy.

Eisha Khan
Political Science: Class of 2018
written 2017

2017 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Erica Cherian, UNC Charlotte Morgan Sweere, University of Central Arkansas Andrew Aboujaoude, University of Central Florida Jaylon Thomas, University of Central Oklahoma Akshayaa Chittibabu, University of Connecticut Marie Spence, University of Denver Nicolette Duong, University of Florida Bobbie Alcanzo, University of Great Falls Eisha Khan, University of Houston-Downtown Alexis Smyser, University of Illinois at Chicago Rudy Amaya, University of La Verne Duane Belanger, University of Maine at Fort Kent Karla Casique, University of Maryland Axel Bayingana, University of Maryland Eastern Shore Sophia Lopresti, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Andrew King, University of Massachusetts Boston Callie Nunez, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Luiza Kinzerska-Martinez, University of Miami Nadine Jawad, University of Michigan Zachary Hayes, University of Michigan - Flint Gemechu Mekonnen, University of Minnesota Madison Bick, University of Missouri - St. Louis Isabel Langlois, University of Montana Shayla McGregor, University of Montana Western Sophie Ramsey, University of Mount Union Jimmy Nguyen, University of Nebraska at Omaha Shannon Bodeau, University of North Carolina Asheville Cristian Ramos, University of North Georgia Karina Judith Ortega, University of North Texas at Dallas Melanie Majeed, University of Northern Iowa Sarah Tomas Morgan, University of Notre Dame Anea Moore, University of Pennsylvania Hashaam Jamil, University of Pittsburgh Wila Matos, University of Rhode Island Edgar Chavarria, University of San Diego Emery Smith, University of South Carolina Isaac Miles, University of South Carolina Beaufort (USCB) Corinne Tucker, University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee Richard Lee, University of Utah Rena Newman, University of Wisconsin - Madison Bianca Ruffolo, University of Wisconsin - Parkside Joanna (Jo) Niswonger, University of Wisconsin Colleges Yessenia Santamaria, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network