Dyamond Gray

University of La Verne

Dyamond Gray is a second year English major with a minor in Spanish at the University of La Verne. She currently serves as the acting President of the Black Student Union and Vice-President of the Language and Culture Club, a university club that supports cultural diversity, communication and creates community. Dyamond also educates and supports her peers as a Spanish Tutor in the University of La Verne's Academic Success Center, which is dedicated to providing all students with the tools and resources to become and remain engaged learners. She is a leader, and continues to grow through her deep sense of equity and commitment to building relationships and community. Her courage and involvement on campus and in the community is inspiring and unquestionably important.

Devorah Lieberman
University of La Verne

Personal Statement

As a young girl, I understood that one of the biggest issues affecting minority communities was unequal access to rights and privileges. I come from a background where the disparities between wealth and poverty are stark. Through my experiences, I have become indignant and uncomfortable with the status-quo. I do not simply want a cultural, political change in the status quo-I need it. It is my social responsibility to strive for a change to make things more equal for not only myself, but for my family, friends, and my peers of color. I am profoundly dedicated to addressing social justice issues, particularly to strive for equity in communities of color and women. My first two years of college, I have been involved as an executive board member in Black Student Union, Language and Culture Club, Shades of Essence and other student clubs dedicated to service and community. I am engaged in community service to foster a sense of belonging, unity and philanthropy. It is only in these ways that I can quell the fire-my zeal-for social justice in my heart.

Dyamond Gray
English Major/Spanish Minor: Class of 2021
written 2019

2019 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Sarah Lutes, UNC Asheville Seda Sahin, Univeristy of Connecticut Bernardo Villarreal Rodríguez, Universidad de Monterrey Elizabeth Paige, University of Baltimore Itzel Velazquez, University of Central Arkansas Jordan Borenstein, University of Central Florida Hunter Caudillo, University of Central Oklahoma Delali Nenonene, University of Dayton April Singleton, University of Delaware Amanda Wittebort, University of Denver Mikaela Lopez, University of Houston-Downtown Nicolas Robledo, University of Illinois at Chicago Natalie Benson, University of Indianapolis Jocelyn Roof, University of Iowa Kaitlyn Frick, University of Kentucky Dyamond Gray, University of La Verne Sarah Nichols, University of Maine at Augusta Maheen Haq, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Madison LaCure, University of Massachusetts - Boston Marvens Pierre, University of Massachusetts Amherst Elizabeth Anusauskas, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Twisha Mohapatra, University of Massachusetts Lowell Shravya Jasti, University of Miami Jalen Rose, University of Michigan-Dearborn Robert Harper, University of Minnesota Danielle Friz, University of Missouri - St. Louis Daisy Ward, University of Montana Adrianna Pittman, University of Montana Western Lizbeth Perez Hernandez, University of Nebraska Omaha Kaitlin Griffin, University of New Hampshire Joyce Yao, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Yesika Sorto Andino, University of North Carolina at Charlotte Adriana Zarate, University of North Georgia Hector Robledo, University of North Texas at Dallas Sashay Carroll, University of Northern Iowa Carson Ball, University of Oklahoma Carter Gale, University of Pennsylvania John Farris, University of Redlands Mary-Kate McGeary, University of Rhode Island Lina Tori Jan, University of Richmond Nina Schneider, University of San DIego Nyteia Tyler, University of San Francisco Karen Padilla, University of South Carolina Beaufort Danica Leaphart, University of South Carolina, Columbia Shaneika Bowra, University of the District of Columbia Livia Karoui, University of the South Jordyn Gaurkee, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay Emiliana Lopez, University of Wisconsin - Madison Zach Atkins, University of Wisconsin - Parkside Madison Hale, University of Wisconsin-Superior
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network