Ciera Kathryn Blehm

University of Denver

As an undergraduate student, Ciera is dedicated to continually connecting her academic learning with her remarkable service to the community. She is a natural relationship builder, is at the forefront of Inclusive Excellence work at the University of Denver (DU), and is positioned for long-term civic engagement through her influential roles on campus and in the community.

Ciera currently serves as the DU Undergraduate Student Government Secretary of Inclusive Excellence and plays a critical role on the DU Student Commission on the Co-curricular Experience. Reflecting her commitment to Inclusive Excellence on campus, she was selected as a Puksta Scholar, participates in the Excelling Leaders Institute and the Social Justice Learning & Living Community, and is working toward her CRIMSON leadership and Inclusive Excellence certification.

Ciera's passion for civic engagement carries far from campus as well. She has served as an intern for Senator Michael Bennet, a Youth Ambassador in the development of a new brand for Colorado, and as a Member of the State Farm Youth Advisory Board, where she commits time and talent to reviewing grant proposals and advocating for funding for service learning programs across the country.

Dr Rebecca S Chopp PhD
University of Denver

Personal Statement

When I was nine I experienced the power that comes from public service for the first time. Building a house alongside a family in need through Habitat for Humanity opened my eyes to realizing that the work that we can achieve together, and for others, is far more rewarding than the work we do ourselves.

My passion for supporting others and addressing social issues led me to serve on the State Farm Youth Advisory Board, where I have helped communities across the country create their own change, supported by $5 million in annual service learning program grants. My current role at the University of Denver as the Secretary of Inclusive Excellence for Undergraduate Student Government has shown me that creating a stronger and more inclusive community must come through the engagement of everyone, not just individuals themselves. When I took this position, I thought back to my nine year old self, and remembered the lessons I learned about a house built with community support. I am committed to inclusive excellence and through that work, I see my role as encouraging and supporting communities to come together to solve problems they are currently facing.

Ciera Kathryn Blehm
Public Policy and International Studies: Class of 2019
written 2016

2016 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Karmen Kurtz, UNC Asheville Erin Coggins, UNC Charlotte Juan Emilio García Estrada, Universidad de Monterrey Sonce Reese, University of Baltimore Lillian McEntire, University of Central Arkansas Katie Richard, University of Central Oklahoma Joshua Higginbotham, University of Charleston Elizabeth Charash, University of Connecticut Kayla J. McLaughlin, University of Dayton Ciera Kathryn Blehm, University of Denver Andy Garcia, University of Florida Brittany Shipman, University of Great Falls Rima Nimri, University of Illinois at Chicago Maribel Hernandez, University of La Verne Benjamin Webster, University of Maryland Eastern Shore Rachael Parran, University of Maryland, Baltimore Max Poole, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Joel Colon, University of Massachusetts Boston Chris LaPorte, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Alexis Musick, University of Miami Hawa Ali, University of Minnesota Rochester Daniel Mueller, University of Missouri - St. Louis Mackenzie Lombardi, University of Montana Katelyn Gonczy, University of Mount Union Antonio Campbell, University of Nebraska Omaha Zachary Bolster, University of New Hampshire Michael Elliott, University of New Hampshire - Manchester John Blessing, University of North Georgia Shelby Yates, University of Northern Iowa Caitlin Hodges, University of Notre Dame Jeffrey Wiseman, University of Pennsylvania Ian Kanterman, University of Rhode Island Jennifer Paradis, University of Saint Joseph Jessica Villa, University of San Francisco Theresa M. Lacey, University of South Carolina Beaufort Cindy Kuo, University of Utah Mirella Espino, University of Wisconsin Colleges-University of Wisconsin-Extension Nasitta Keita, University of Wisconsin-Madison Marley Uran, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network