Carson Ball

University of Oklahoma

Carson Ball is a University of Oklahoma sophomore majoring in Political Science and Native American Studies with a concentration in Tribal Governance and Policy. Last summer Carson served as the Indian Affairs Intern for United States Senator James Lankford. Carson is a Carl Albert Center Civic Engagement Fellow where he helped coordinate an unprecedented voter registration drive on OU's campus, registering 685 students. The Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education recognized the Fellows for their efforts in winning the Campus Compact Voter Registration Drive. The Fellows also partnered with RISE to Vote in a nonpartisan effort to register professional and college athletes to vote, and the Oklahoma City Thunder to register the players, staff, and fans. Based on their work, OU was recognized as one of "the best colleges for student voting," by Washington Monthly. Carson advocates for education equity and is the co-founder and chair of the Miracle Mindset Empowerment and Leadership Summit that serves high school freshmen with the purpose of eliminating the achievement gap and persistent disparity of educational resources, information, and opportunities among at-risk youth from low-income backgrounds by providing students with the essential tools and encouragement needed to be successful in high school and beyond.

James Gallogly
University of Oklahoma

Personal Statement

I first became involved in promoting education equity when I served Oklahomans on Superintendent Hofmeister's Student Advisory Board. Through this experience, I realized the inequities facing our state's educational system, and I was determined to improve them. Since I have gotten older, my experience with issues surrounding education has grown exponentially. I have interned for Senator James Lankford as his Senate of Indian Affairs Correspondent and at the Oklahoma Department of Education as the governmental affairs intern-where I analyze and research education-based legislation. Both of these opportunities allowed me to get an in-depth view of how our government is structured. On campus, I became a democracy coach for Generation Citizen and began educating high school students how to participate and engage in democracy. This organization was a catalyst in inspiring me to co-create a program called Miracle Mindset, which aims to eliminate the disparity gap amongst students who attend socioeconomic and geographically disadvantaged schools by reducing the achievement gap and persistent disparity of educational resources, information, and opportunities. Through continued involvement on and off campus, I believe I can help improve the education equity in Oklahoma one step at a time.

Carson Ball
Political Science and Native American Studies: Tribal Governance and Leadership: Class of 2021
written 2019

2019 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Sarah Lutes, UNC Asheville Seda Sahin, Univeristy of Connecticut Bernardo Villarreal Rodríguez, Universidad de Monterrey Elizabeth Paige, University of Baltimore Itzel Velazquez, University of Central Arkansas Jordan Borenstein, University of Central Florida Hunter Caudillo, University of Central Oklahoma Delali Nenonene, University of Dayton April Singleton, University of Delaware Amanda Wittebort, University of Denver Mikaela Lopez, University of Houston-Downtown Nicolas Robledo, University of Illinois at Chicago Natalie Benson, University of Indianapolis Jocelyn Roof, University of Iowa Kaitlyn Frick, University of Kentucky Dyamond Gray, University of La Verne Sarah Nichols, University of Maine at Augusta Maheen Haq, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Madison LaCure, University of Massachusetts - Boston Marvens Pierre, University of Massachusetts Amherst Elizabeth Anusauskas, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Twisha Mohapatra, University of Massachusetts Lowell Shravya Jasti, University of Miami Jalen Rose, University of Michigan-Dearborn Robert Harper, University of Minnesota Danielle Friz, University of Missouri - St. Louis Daisy Ward, University of Montana Adrianna Pittman, University of Montana Western Lizbeth Perez Hernandez, University of Nebraska Omaha Kaitlin Griffin, University of New Hampshire Joyce Yao, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Yesika Sorto Andino, University of North Carolina at Charlotte Adriana Zarate, University of North Georgia Hector Robledo, University of North Texas at Dallas Sashay Carroll, University of Northern Iowa Carson Ball, University of Oklahoma Carter Gale, University of Pennsylvania John Farris, University of Redlands Mary-Kate McGeary, University of Rhode Island Lina Tori Jan, University of Richmond Nina Schneider, University of San DIego Nyteia Tyler, University of San Francisco Karen Padilla, University of South Carolina Beaufort Danica Leaphart, University of South Carolina, Columbia Shaneika Bowra, University of the District of Columbia Livia Karoui, University of the South Jordyn Gaurkee, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay Emiliana Lopez, University of Wisconsin - Madison Zach Atkins, University of Wisconsin - Parkside Madison Hale, University of Wisconsin-Superior
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network