Benjamin Webster

University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Given his exemplary and far-reaching student leadership, Benjamin P. Webster is the University's unequivocal Newman Civic Fellow nominee. With a 4.0 cumulative grade point average in business administration major, Benjamin is keenly aware that the University is located in the poorest county (i.e., Somerset) in Maryland, with a considerable student enrollment from such a location. Thus, he has been a tireless advocate and leader for students with challenging financial conditions by conducting regular on-campus workshops on the economic importance of a baccalaureate degree in his official capacity as UMES "student ambassador" of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF). The TMCF, which is named in honor of the first African American Supreme Court Justice, "develops leaders for tomorrow" among other student development programs. A "servant leader," Benjamin places others before himself.

Dr Juliette Ball Bell
University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Personal Statement

It is an honor to be nominated for the Newman Civic Fellow Leadership Program. I have learned much about the importance that civic leadership has in struggling communities. Due to the University's location, which is in the poorest county in Maryland, Somerset County, students face financial and social hardships that hinder their growth. This issue catalyzed my leadership potential and continues to be my most critical issue to resolve. When I arrived at my University, I noted our strengths and weaknesses, then created programs to improve them both through student engagement and advocacy. In addition to being a Student Ambassador for the Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF), I host personal empowerment and professional development workshops, offer tutoring services to struggling students, mentor and navigate students through their careers, and restarted the University's gay-straight alliance, Uniquely Defined, to create a safer environment for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students. My proudest accomplishment includes leading 10 students to the TMCF Leadership Institute and successfully finding 3 students employment. As Mahatma Gandhi stated, "Be the change that you wish to see in the world," and I plan to do that now and beyond my collegiate career.

Benjamin Webster
Business Administration: Class of 2018
written 2016

2016 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Karmen Kurtz, UNC Asheville Erin Coggins, UNC Charlotte Juan Emilio García Estrada, Universidad de Monterrey Sonce Reese, University of Baltimore Lillian McEntire, University of Central Arkansas Katie Richard, University of Central Oklahoma Joshua Higginbotham, University of Charleston Elizabeth Charash, University of Connecticut Kayla J. McLaughlin, University of Dayton Ciera Kathryn Blehm, University of Denver Andy Garcia, University of Florida Brittany Shipman, University of Great Falls Rima Nimri, University of Illinois at Chicago Maribel Hernandez, University of La Verne Benjamin Webster, University of Maryland Eastern Shore Rachael Parran, University of Maryland, Baltimore Max Poole, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Joel Colon, University of Massachusetts Boston Chris LaPorte, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Alexis Musick, University of Miami Hawa Ali, University of Minnesota Rochester Daniel Mueller, University of Missouri - St. Louis Mackenzie Lombardi, University of Montana Katelyn Gonczy, University of Mount Union Antonio Campbell, University of Nebraska Omaha Zachary Bolster, University of New Hampshire Michael Elliott, University of New Hampshire - Manchester John Blessing, University of North Georgia Shelby Yates, University of Northern Iowa Caitlin Hodges, University of Notre Dame Jeffrey Wiseman, University of Pennsylvania Ian Kanterman, University of Rhode Island Jennifer Paradis, University of Saint Joseph Jessica Villa, University of San Francisco Theresa M. Lacey, University of South Carolina Beaufort Cindy Kuo, University of Utah Mirella Espino, University of Wisconsin Colleges-University of Wisconsin-Extension Nasitta Keita, University of Wisconsin-Madison Marley Uran, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network