Ana Trejo Aguilar

University of San Diego

Ana Trejo Aguilar, a second year student at the University of San Diego (USD), has demonstrated her commitment to social justice and academic excellence early on in her career. She is a member of the Mulvaney Center for Community, Awareness, and Social Action’s Beyond Borders Team - a student led group that raises awareness on issues affecting immigrants on both sides of the San Diego/Tijuana Border. Ana uses her leadership role in Beyond Borders as a platform to speak up about her experience as a DACA recipient. This has opened the doors for others to speak up and to empathize with an issue that is increasingly polarized in the national discourse. As a Major in Behavioral Neuroscience and Minor in Visual Arts, Ana manages her time wisely in order to navigate the pressure of curricular and cocurricular commitments. She continuously uses her skills and passion for Visual Arts as a creative medium through which to engage peers. Ana is a person of tremendous character, commitment, and empathy. She embodies USD’s values of compassionate service and academic excellence while demonstrating exemplary civic engagement and leadership among the USD community.

James Harris III
University of San Diego

Personal Statement

Growing up in South Florida and moving across the country to San Diego has given me the opportunity to gain a broader perspective on the different experiences of migrants and hardships they encounter while coming to the U.S.. I have learned that many of them encounter similar problems and boundaries that prevent them from pursuing a life in the U.S.. Many of them share the same values and beliefs but are often left to their own devices. Yet, they can be helped in similar ways. On campus, I am part of a student led service organization that organizes a conversation night and border immersion trips for students to learn and volunteer to help migrants on both sides of the San Diego/Tijuana border. I am also co-coordinator of a group that helps undocumented/DACAmented students and their families on campus be able to navigate the higher education system.

Ana Trejo Aguilar
Behavioral Neuroscience with a minor in Visual Arts: Class of 2022
written 2020

2020 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Alexander Kaye, U. of Central Florida Miyako Iwata, UC Berkeley M. Chiamaka Okonkwo, UNC Charlotte Noelia Michelle Flores González, Universidad de Monterrey Ashlyn Woods, University of Baltimore Greta Hacker, University of Central Arkansas Christian Coleman, University of Central Oklahoma Hailey Ettinger, University of Colorado Boulder Michael Hernández, University of Connecticut Claire Sullivan, University of Dayton Maggie Nelson, University of Delaware Tarun Ramesh, University of Georgia Gregoria Uroza, University of Houston-Downtown Wasan Kumar, University of Illinois at Chicago Kaitlyn Meyr, University of Kentucky Ana Benitez, University of La Verne Amanda Gardner, University of Maine at Augusta Stephanie Turcios, University of Mary Washington Nihira Mugamba, University of Maryland, Baltimore County(UMBC) Maggie Sullivan, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Danelia Ramirez Aguilar, University of Massachusetts Lowell Jendayi London, University of Miami Meredith Days, University of Michigan Lucy Grimshaw, University of Missouri – St. Louis Kortney Sims, University of Montana Dinesh Karki, University of Nebraska Omaha Alexandra Vergara, University of New Hampshire Keyri Ambrocio, University of New Haven Aryelle Jacobsen, University of North Carolina Asheville Katherine Torres, University of North Georgia Yarik Molina, University of North Texas at Dallas Cole Passick, University of Northern Iowa Evan McKenna, University of Notre Dame Justin Norris, University of Oklahoma Nisha Sridhar, University of Oregon Oluwatomisin Oyedele, University of Pennsylvania Stephanie Rose, University of Pittsburgh TJ Tann, University of Richmond Ana Trejo Aguilar, University of San Diego Evelyn Pedraza Fernandez, University of San Francisco Imani Sherrills, University of South Carolina Beaufort Patrick Mack, University of South Carolina Upstate Reylan Cook, University of South Carolina-Columbia - Columbia, SC Tyus Edmond, University of St Thomas Amber Heidenreich, University of Wisconsin - Superior Shehrose Charania, University of Wisconsin-Madison Tavyonia Davis, University of Wisconsin-Parkside Trenton Ebel, UW Green Bay
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network